Art of Journal Writing

Art of Journal Writing

Perhaps it is something that many of us had done during our younger days or as one of our school assignments. Maybe we have gotten quite older, and some of us felt that it is something that children do, so we felt as if it was necessary to leave it in the memories of our youth, in those old boxes of our childhood memorabilia. I had been thinking about this for the past year, and yes, it really took me a year to realize this. No, the art of journal writing is not dead yet. At least I hope not.

Prior to starting my own blog, I have kept little notebooks or mini-journals. In those small treasures, I’ve kept certain thoughts, verses, or specific quotes that I find beautiful and valuable or applicable in specific aspects of my life. Now, as I sit and look back, leafing through my little notes here and there, I feel privileged to witness my growth in both my thoughts and my writing.

How many of us use little post-it notes to remind ourselves of something? How many of us write down our thoughts when the world seems to be too busy for us? How many of us find solace in writing? How many of us, after years of doing so, stopped keeping little journals?

Of course, some may think that we don’t do those anymore because here I am and here you are engrossed in the blogging world. So, what in the world do we need journals for? Well, if you ask me, sometimes there are thoughts that are better kept in private. Maybe you can share them with the world, if you are a little obsessed with immortalizing yourself through your writing, but we shouldn’t always feel compelled to post everything on Face book, Twitter, Blogspot, or even Word Press. Though there is a welcoming world within these spheres too, we should leave something for ourselves. No, I am not against sharing everything to the world, but I am for leaving something that is solely for the self, something that we do on our own.

So, with all of these little ramblings, I encourage you to grab a notebook, or your notes application, anything that you can use to write. Write with your heart. Write whatever you may feel or think at the moment. The sky is the limit, literally. Ignore for a moment the conventions of grammar and tenses; it needn’t be perfect or publish-worthy, for it is something that you must do for yourself. Explore that territory that is your mind. Create. Write. Express. For in doing these things, we are giving ourselves the opportunity not only to think but to express whatever thoughts we may have in writing. There is something about putting your thoughts into writing that makes it a far better experience than just pondering about them. Though both are solitary activities in nature, writing for yourself (journal-style) is an opportunity for you to communicate with the inner you, the being that resides within. In writing do we express our inner thoughts and emotions, and in doing so, we breathe life to whatever is in our minds, allowing them their own physical existence and to occupy a tangible space in our lives.

So, let’s celebrate, appreciate, and revive the art of journal writing!

 

أضف تعليقاً

